Technophobia Horribilis

Ah, technology! The Computer Age! Wondrous oracles of time-saving paperless wisdom!
Now please don’t get me wrong. I love my computer. I love my smart phone. I love my ipod. It’s just … when they go wrong I really don’t love them so much anymore. I don’t think I’m unreasonable. When they go wrong, they go wrong. For instance, after years of faithful, relatively peaceful and quiet service, WHY has my laptop (whose name is Evesham) suddenly decided to vanish about a third of my writing files? And then, to add insult to injury, refuse me modification access to what’s left?
Why has Evesham gone on a vendetta against me? I’ve always treated him fairly well. I think. So why now has he transformed from the gentle, obedient, slightly rickety little old laptop I once knew and loved into a file-chomping monster who digs his metaphorical heels into the metaphorical ground rather like one of the more recalcitrant varieties of mule?
Technology! It’s all over me, get it off!
And what have you done with my files, you miserable excuse for a computer?
Please forgive me, I need to have a stand-off with Evesham. His reign of terror must end. And if it has to be the guillotine, so be it.
image

Leave a Reply

