Paving Stones and Paperweights

They say the road to hell is paved with good intentions. They’ve been telling me this for years and I never took a blind bit of notice. Frankly I have always doubted the voice of the hive. But today I started to believe them, at least in this instance.
You see, today my intentions were only of the best. The best intentions make such lovely paving stones.
It all began so well. I got up early, ate a healthy breakfast, got to work dead on time, and worked like a Trojan til lunch break.
At lunch break things suddenly went south. It wasn’t my plan to lose my temper with my boss. I didn’t desire to pick a gargantuan fight with said boss. And it certainly wasn’t my intention to throw that paperweight at said boss. But the paperweight somehow flung itself at her aggravating face with its plastering of makeup and its frame of overblown, overstyled hair.
It definitely wasn’t my intention to end the day in jail.
And the worst of it is, my parents are in Hawaii so there’s no-one to bail me out.
So here I am, on the road to hell.
Is it me or is it hot in here?

24 thoughts on “Paving Stones and Paperweights

  1. Ha!ha!loved the tongue-in-cheek humour in this story!Darn that paperweight,having a mind of its own-it should have been in jail,not you;-)”The best intentions make such lovely paving stones.”what a lovely line-very well written:-)

    1. Thank you 🙂 a lot of my Trifecta work has had quite a serious tone, even dark… But generally speaking, my fiction tends to have a tongue-in-cheek, rather snarky humour. So I thought it was time I showed that side of myself.
      And yes, paperweights have a nasty spiteful way which goes unnoticed for the most part. The world needs to know their true nature! ;-P

  2. “It wasn’t my plan to lose my temper with my boss. I didn’t desire to pick a gargantuan fight with said boss. And it certainly wasn’t my intention to throw that paperweight at said boss. ” mwhahahaha. Awesome. I have more than one ex-boss who deserves to be pelted with a paperweight or ten.

  3. You already know your primo line, but it’s worth repeating: “The best intentions make such lovely paving stones.” This was a priceless fantasy piece – er, at least I hope it was! hehe

  4. It’s not always our plan. Somethings just happen like an errant paper weight that flies across the room. Oops! It was the bosses fault, no doubt. The air is probably a little “close” in jail. Fortunately, I don’t know first hand.

  5. You definitely have your snark on! Very funny, and cathartic. (do it again!)

    Nitpicking:
    (sorry, maybe I should go to bed instead)
    At the beginning you go from “they” to “the voice of the hive” and back to “them”. Maybe “the voices of the hive”?

    1. I’m glad you like my snark, having been introduced to it 😉 Ah yes thanks for the C.C. (constructive criticism) I wrote this in a hurry and forgot to check for grammatical typos.

  6. Lol, wow talk about a bad day. You really need to strap your paperweight down to keep it from attacking overly made up women. BTW what does the paperweight have against the 80’s?

  7. Just this morning I read an essay that I loved that spoke about bosses and how we Americans have stopped standing up to them. That corporate and political culture and arrogant CEO’s browbeating their staff has become the norm. And we allow it to happen. Maybe throwing a paperweight at our boss’ head isn’t the answer, but I admire her for standing up for her rights (I’ll just assume that’s what she did!). I love the humor and the flow of the writing.

  8. I had a chuckle there. I literally imagined the paperweight flying onto the boss hehe. I liked the contrast of parents being in Hawaii and the person being in jail! Nobody knows how the day would end when it first starts but definitely nobody would have the intention to end it like this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

