It’s Raining Men (Third proper instalment of the coffee-loving detective)

“Never mind the coffee,” she said. “I want to know what you were doing in that house.”
He looked enigmatic. He was annoyingly good at looking enigmatic, the same way he was annoyingly good at everything. She wondered what he was thinking. “Are you planning to answer me anytime soon, or would you rather I lock you up straight away? Because I’d be more than happy to oblige if that’s what you want.”
“I’m sure you would.”
She frowned. “And what’s that supposed to mean?”
He leaned forward. “Just that I know you’ve been wanting to get rid of me from the moment your guys brought me in here today. But we both know I don’t belong on this side of the table.”
She raised an eyebrow. “Oh, we do? If you wanted to stay on my side of the table, you shouldn’t have vanished off to… wherever you went… and then turned up in a house with a dead guy in it.”
“Well, with this sort of homecoming reception, I’m beginning to wish I hadn’t turned up at all.”
“I don’t know why you did. I’m sure you were having a perfectly wonderful time,” she sniped in a decidedly green-eyed-feline voice.
“Just where exactly do you think I was?”
“Knowing you, I’m thinking Las Vegas. Yeah, I can see you playing the tables for kicks and making it rain on some undeserving exotic dancers with feathery tails….”
“As it happens, I was NOT in Las Vegas,” he said in injured tones. “I was in Los Angeles, WORKING.”
“Mm-hmm.” She sounded unconvinced.
“You don’t believe me.” he was hurt. She was glad. She hated hurting him, but he deserved it right now. She cleared her throat and continued mendaciously, “To be honest, I couldn’t care less where you’ve been. I want to know why you’re back, and why you chose a crime scene for re-entry.”

21 thoughts on “It’s Raining Men (Third proper instalment of the coffee-loving detective)

    1. Sorry, I’m not sure how to do links within posts…. There are two instalments further back. The first is called “Trifecta challenge (but I wanted to write this anyway)” and the second is “Trifecta challenge – Doctor”.

      1. That’s ok…would be lovely to link, really would. I feel for you, was a long learning curve! Will find, thanks! I hesitate to write instructions here, not really fair to you. Best regards.

    1. Yay! Thank you! I will be honest and say this probably counts as fan-fiction… But I’m not sure if I’m allowed to use names which is why I’ve managed to avoid them so far.

    1. Hehe I’m afraid you’ll have to wait for the next one….
      Those three dreaded words that roll across the screen just as you are on the edge of your seat – ‘To Be Continued’ 😉

  1. Mendaciously… nice use of vocabulary. I’m interested in hearing why he’s back – what’s his story, and what side of the table does he really belong on? Well done!

Leave a Reply

