Let Me Not to the Alchemy of True Minds…. (Trifecta)

“I didn’t choose a crime scene – it chose me.”
She looked unimpressed. “Oh please. You’re really going for that line?”
He shrugged. “I didn’t think you’d buy it. But that doesn’t negate the fact that it happens to be true.”
He wondered if her eyes really did look straight through him. They certainly seemed to. Annoyance always effected a change in her, an alchemy that made her eyes turn from dark sinkholes of liquid beauty to diamond-edged daggers in one easy move.
“You know what your problem is?”
“Which one are we talking about?” he quipped, stirring for the sake of it.
“Your problem is that you’re so good at inventing stories, I don’t know when you’re lying anymore.”
“Oh come on, you know I’ve always been a terrible liar,” he protested.
The daggers went through him again. He knew she hated it when he was right. Probably because it was her job to be right, and his to make up crazy stories, and she didn’t approve of role reversal. She leaned forward in what he secretly called her ‘in for the kill’ pose.
“Whatever the case, I need to know what you were doing in that house. NOW.”
He leaned back. “You really want to know?”
“No, I’ve spent the last half hour in the box with you because I like wasting time.”
His grin resurfaced. “Oh, you’re beautiful when you’re sarcastic.”
The daggers caught fire. He realized he couldn’t push her much further. “Fine, I’ll tell you. But you won’t like it.”
“Just get it over with. We’ll deal with my feelings about this later.”.
“Ok. I went to Denny Clay’s house because I was going to kill him.”
Her jaw almost dropped. It was a credit to her self-control that it only twitched.
He enjoyed her look of horror for five seconds before adding, “Purely fictionally of course. You didn’t think I meant anything else…. Did you?”
He waited for the explosion.

8 thoughts on “Let Me Not to the Alchemy of True Minds…. (Trifecta)

    1. Thank you 😀 I was rather pleased when that metaphor popped into my head too! I snared it with a butterfly net as it rushed past the Creative Writing Centre of my brain and made it do my bidding..

Leave a Reply

