Trifecta – Clubs Are Ace

“So you’re telling me I can’t join the club?”
The woman on the other side of the desk rolled her eyes heavenward and gave a heartfelt sigh.
I can’t help it. I just have to get everything sorted out down to the last molecular detail. Especially when I’m told I can’t do something. That takes even more investigation. “You’re not legible,” she explained with irritated patience.
“I wasn’t aware my handwriting was part of the criteria,” I muttered.
“Pardon?”
“I think you mean ‘eligible’ rather than ‘legible’. While I admit, freely, that my writing isn’t the easiest to read, I doubt it affects my application.”
She stared blankly. I’m used to it.
“Shall we start again from the beginning?” I suggested with angelic innocence.
I thought she was going to explode. She looked around wildly for some form of support, and found it in her line manager, who happened to be walking past. Unfortunately for him.
He was a man with greying hair, and I was sure it would be much greyer by the time I’d finished with him.
“What seems to be the problem?”
The woman opened her mouth to explain, thought better of it, and closed her mouth again. “I think I’ll let the customer explain,” she said in a flash of wisdom, and retreated hastily.
I settled down to enjoy the next hour or so.
Well, I want to join that club. I really do.

21 thoughts on “Trifecta – Clubs Are Ace

    1. Hehe, your own heart being a slightly belligerent pedant who enjoys stirring things?? Lol. Half of this is what goes on in my head but never quite dare to say. Half of it unfortunately I do say!

  1. I suspect she didn’t really want to join the club as much as prove a point. I hope she wore the manager down enough to let her join, just so she could say, “I’ve changed my mind.” Loved the story. btw…I was concerned, at first, about your use of the word “legible”. Loved how you turned THAT around!!

  2. The legible bit was great. I have been this woman, and have had to deal with this woman. not proud of either.
    Fun piece!

  3. Haha! Now that’s a woman who knows how to get her way. And she does it with smarts, not overt, bullying. I thought I read a typo in the story and later realized the clerk was an idiot. This was the funniest part. No, hang on, the funniest is realizing she would intellectually manhandle manager into submission. Great story, worth a great laugh.

    1. Hehe I can’t believe I got two of you with that trick!! Awesome!
      Oh yes that poor manager. He’ll need something strong and restorative when he gets home!!
      Thanks a lot for your comment 😀

Leave a Reply

