Trifecta – Oxide Daisies

It was a large forest, full of trees that blew their dying rusty leaves into the faces of unwary travellers trudging the autumn path. The leaves swirled and danced, collecting into little eddies of burnt umber and mahogany red, before turning skittishly aside and scattering back into the treetrunks.
The remnants of summer flowers faded away into sad little bundles of death, oxidized like everything else left over from a past season, and crisped by the sharp winds belonging to the back end of the year.
But the trees were content to settle their sap down into a congealed glut and wait for spring to resurrect them. They did not complain at the blustering of the north wind. They did not mourn the passing of summer. They stood, tall, proud and bare, beautiful skeletons awaiting the kiss of life.
The rest of us hid under scarves and hats and grumbled about the weather.

18 thoughts on “Trifecta – Oxide Daisies

  1. I love trees as well. I don’t think I could live in a place without trees. This was beautiful. And the bit about the weather at the end was a great counterpoint. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Neither could I. I hate cities as a rule. I don’t have that many big trees around my immediate vicinity as I live next to the sea, but you don’t have to go far at all before melting into beech trees…. They are so beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚
      Glad you enjoyed my little forest prose. And yes I couldn’t keep my slight snark out of it haha!

  2. Trees are amazing and resilient! I lived in the desert, in a large concrete and black top city, for nearly twenty-five years. A few months ago, I moved to a small town with lots of oak and pine tress- LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

