A Novel Update

Hello people!
In case anybody cares, the novel I am currently writing (that is to say, the novel I am currently writing the most) just passed the 58,000-word mark. It’s so close to being finished that I can practically taste The End.
I also managed to name a character who had been wandering about for some time only partially named, which is not a good condition for anyone to be in, fictional or otherwise.
I for one think that’s fairly impressive. But then I am biased. Well, only slightly. πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “A Novel Update

  1. Congratulations! Naming a character’s always tricky; it’s got to be the RIGHT name, you know, and if it’s not it just won’t work. Ann of Green Gables, for instance, wouldn’t have been near as much as classic, nor would Bill Beeblebrox. No one’s afraid of the Dread Pirate Westley. So, that is fairly impressive. πŸ˜€

    1. Oh good gracious no! Print out A-N-N and it looks absolutely dreadful, but Anne-with-an-E is quite distinguished πŸ˜‰ Bill Beeblebrox made me giggle. I feel as if he should have ‘Esq.’ after his name, like a Dickens character. Certainly not galactic president material. Mind you, come to think of it, Zaphod B wasn’t much cop at galactic presidency either. Note to galaxy: Avoid Beeblebroxes at all costs.
      My character had a first name, which was excellent, as he features prominently in TWO books, so for him to be completely nameless would have made things very awkward indeed. But the trouble is, he’s a duke. So the dukedom title is very important. His family name was less so, but I still needed it because I had decided his fabulous ancestral home was going to be named after his family. But as you say, it has to be the right name. So it took me a very long time to decide. My readers and I have to put up with both names for the duration of two books, after all!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

